For the complete experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser.
HOMEAbout District 3790District 3790 Rotary ClubsThe Rotary Club Central
Copyright © 2017 Rotary Club of Southern La Union, District 3790. • All rights reserved • Email:
rotary 3790a2
District committees

District committees rely on the leadership qualities that have made you a successful club leader. By appointing you to a committee, your district governor has recognized that your skills, experience, and enthusiasm will help drive initiatives and support club and district activities and functions.

All committees collaborate with governors before and during their terms to establish district goals.

Learn more about your role and committee in the Lead Your District: Committee Chair manual.

Recommended committees

These are the recommended standing district committees that address ongoing functions and activities:




Avenues of service committees work with their districts and clubs to support innovative and sustainable service projects, serve as subject matter experts, and share resources and best practices for their respective avenue of service.

Young Leaders

As a member of an Interact, Rotaract, Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA), or Youth Exchange committee, you work with your district to strengthen these programs.


Resources & reference

Rotary support


Our story properly begins in 1905, when Paul Harris organized the first Rotary club is Chicago. True to his character, Paul Harris, the founder, became president of the club on its third year (1907), and he started to work on extending Rotary to San Francisco, Oakland, Seattle, Los Angeles, New York, Boston… Portland, and so on.

In 1910 – After only 5 years, the First National Congress, with 16 clubs (1800 members), was held in Chicago. There were 29 delegates. On November 3 that year, RC Winnipeg (Canada) became the first club outside the US – making Rotary an, International, organization, and it started to cross the oceans to spread in Europe and other countries.

1919 – Leo J. Lambert wrote John Poole (the president of the International Assn. of Rotary clubs) on the possibility of organizing a Rotary club in Manila. Roger D. Pinneo of RC Seattle was sent to Manila to help organize, and on June 1, 1919 the Rotary Club of Manila became the first club in Asia with 38 members, 2 Filipinos (Gabriel Lao and Gregorio Nieva, and Chinese (Alfonso Sycip) and 35 Americans.

Thirteen years later, in 1932, the Rotary Club of Cebu was chartered, followed by RC Iloilo as the third club in 1933. The three clubs, called Non-district Clubs, were directly supervised by the RI President and Board of Directors. Incidentally, the practice of districting under a governor started in 1915 by the 6th Convention in San Francisco.

In 1936 – District 81 was created for eleven clubs in China and Hongkong with the 3 clubs in the Philippines. The governor was Chengting T. Wong of Shanghai. 1937 -The district was re-numbered 96, with Fong See of Shanghai as governor. RC Bacolod was chartered.

1938 – RI District 81 was re-created for the Philippines with George Malcolm as appointed governor. 3 new clubs (Baguio, Dagupan and Davao) were chartered making a total of 8 clubs.

1940 – World War II broke out and all clubs in the Philippines was disbanded due to the hostilities. Theodore L. Hall was governor.

1945 – The war ended, and Dagupan was the first club re-admitted to RI, then came Manila, etc. District 81 was re-established with Theodore L. Hall as appointed governor.

1946-47 – Gil C. Puyat was appointed the First Filipino District Governor. RC Tarlac was admitted as the first new club after the war. RC Bacolod, Baguio, Cebu and Davao were re-admitted, making a total of 7 clubs with 186 Rotarians. The practice of electing district governors was institutionalized.

1947-48 – Marianito F. Lichuaco of Dagupan was the first elected governor. He was followed by Benjamin Gaston (Bacolod) and Emilio Javier (Manila).

1950-51 – District 81 become District 48, with Fernando Manalo of Baguio as governor, with 22 clubs with 834 Rotarians. Marianito Tinio of Cabanatuan was the last governor of District 48, this was re-numbered 385 under Governor Hermando Pineda of Cagayan de Oro, with 35 clubs, with 1300 Rotarians.

In 1963-64, Alfonso Oboza of Davao was the last governor of the whole Philippines as one district, it was divided into District 380 (Luzon, Mindanao and Palawan) with Mat Caparas of Caloocan as first governor with 29 clubs, and District 385 (Visayas & Mindanao) with 33 clubs, and Leonardo Gallardo of Bacolod as governor.

In 1976-77 – District 380 had over 80 clubs (3,000 Rotarians) and Jun Tambunting was governor, and this was split into 380 and 382. RC Angeles and Central Tarlac were charted. Ernani V. Certeza was first governor of the new District 380 (North of the Pasig River) with 44 clubs and over 1500 Rotarians.

1982-83 – with 86 clubs and over 2,000 Rotarians, then Gov. Mar Un Ocampo started the ground work for the split, made effective by Gov. Mike Ampil in 1983-84, into 379 (North Western provinces from Pampanga to Ilocos Norte). Since then.

Other past governors who came from clubs in District 3790 (as now constituted) are: Rodolfo Nisce of San Fernando LU (1966-67), Ruben Roxas of Tarlac (1974-75), Romeo Galang of San Fernando P. (1979-80), and Jesus C. Tabora of San Fernando LU (1981-82).
Past, Present and Future District Governors